Past National Tartan Day Award Recipients

As part of the National Tartan Day Washington DC celebration of Tartan Day, The Scottish Coalition, USA presents The National Tartan Day Award. Past recipients are:

  • 2003 – Duncan Bruce
  • 2004 – Ellis MacDonald 
  • 2005 – Ethyl Ray
  • 2006 – Duncan MacDonald 
  • 2007 – Bob Murdoch 
  • 2008 – Sen. Trent Lott 
  • 2009 – Royce McNeil 
  • 2010 – Dr. Phil Smith
  • 2011 – Barbara Humphrys
  • 2012 – Bill Wallace 
  • 2013 – John Flowers 
  • 2014 – John Toffy 
  • 2015 – Marjorie Warren
  • 2016 – Robert McWilliam
  • 2017 – Anne Robertson Kennedy
  • 2018 – Alan L Bain
  • 2019 – Rev. Douglas F. Kelly PhD
  • 2020 – Bob Creighton


National Tartan Day Award – Nomination Process

NOMINATION PROCESS :  A communication is sent from TSC USA to leading Scottish American organizations, organizers of Games and Festivals, leading Clans, and individual National Tartan Day Coordinators, requesting their nominee.  An organization or individual leading...

NYC Tartan Day History

After the U.S. Senate officially recognized Tartan Day in 1998, Alan Bain, Chairman of the American Scottish Foundation, was tasked by The Scottish Coalition USA to organize a Tartan Day celebration for New York City and in 1998 the first Tartan Day Parade, consisting...

National Tartan Day – History

Tartan Day is a North American celebration of Scottish heritage on April 6, the date on which the Declaration of Arbroath was signed in 1320. It originated in Canada in the mid-1980s. It spread to other communities of the Scottish diaspora in the 1990s. In Australia...

Scottish Coalition USA – About

The Scottish Coalition USA comprises six leading national organizations who share the mission to further interests and common goals throughout the United States through collaboration. Member Organizations are: The American-Scottish Foundation® Scottish Heritage, USA...